Books

lets_pretendEmpire of the Summer Moon
by S. C. Gwynne
This book is a good mix of a broad historical tale intermixed with fascinating personal stories. Sad, amazing, poignant occasionally even funny. It’s a portion of American history that is a bit vague for most, and certainly in the American psyche the Comanche history is less familiar than that of the Sioux or Apache while their influence was substantially greater both in territory and in influence. A fantastic book all around.

In the tradition of Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee, a stunningly vivid historical account of the forty-year battle between Comanche Indians and white settlers for control of the American West, centering on Quanah, the greatest Comanche chief of them all



lets_pretend

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir)


By Jenny Lawson
I haven’t laughed my ass of reading in a long time. The first half of the book in particular is so outrageous, that I kept wanting to turn around and share it with someone. The second half of the book that deals less with Lawson’s childhood and the life thrust upon her and focuses more on the whack-ado choices she makes in her own life make you question her sanity, and whether or not she is turning into her parents. All and all a great read.

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.


The Good Food Revolution

The Good Food Revolution


By Will Allen
This book in my opinion couldn’t be any more on the money. In many ways the book is a journey that is uniquely that of the authors but in many ways it is a chronicle of where our society is and where it needs to go. If you are looking for something that is both interesting and inspirational this is it. Right now this book is huge in the gardening, sustainable culture crowd. I am hoping it also becomes required reading for sociologists and city planners.

A pioneering urban farmer and MacArthur “Genius Award” winner points the way to building a new food system that can feed—and heal—broken communities.


Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail

By Cheryl Straid
In The Spirt of A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson, Straid’s memoir chronicles her trek up the west coasts less well known Pacific Crest Trail. A bit more remote of a trek, a little less comedy, and in general a lot darker but ultimately a little more insight into Cheryls’ life. As someone who has made some serious rookie hiking mistakes. Some of Cheryl’s preperation or lack of preparation made me scream ‘NO’ as I read fearing for her survival.

A powerful, blazingly honest memoir: the story of an eleven-hundred-mile solo hike that broke down a young woman reeling from catastrophe—and built her back up again